Infrastructure | Faculties

Faculty of Armenian Philology

The Faculty of Armenian Philology is one of the pioneers among YSU faculties. The now independent faculties of Oriental Studies, Russian Philology, Romance-Germanic Philology, and Journalism were formed from its basis.

The first tutors of this faculty were highly merited persons of Armenian studies Hakob Manandyan and Manouk Abeghyan, Hrachya Atcharyan and Grigor Ghapantsyan, Simon Hakobyan and Arsen Terteryan. Famous armenologists M. Mkryan, S. Ghazaryan, G Sevak, H. Barseghyan, Ed. Aghayan, Hr. Tamrazyan, G. Jahoukyan, Al. Margaryan, H. Mamikonyan, S. Soghomonyan and others have been their disciples, as well as well-known lecturers scientists such as Doctors A. Souqiasyan, S. Galstyan, A. Sharuryan, H. Makhchanyan, V. Gabrielyan, L. Yezekyan, Kh. Badikyan, S. Mouradyan, H. Edoyan, L. Hovsepyan, L. Mnatsakanyan, Zh. Kalantaryan, R. Ghazaryan, A. Avagyan, R. Sakapetoyan, K. Aghabekyan and others.

In parallel with the organization of educational process scientific researches which have significantly promoted the development almost in all areas of Armenian studies are undertaken at this faculty.

The faculty's graduates are occupied in different educational and cultural institutions of the RA and Diaspora, promoting the further development of scientific life.

Many tutors of Native Language and Literature have studied at this faculty in different times (Hovhannes Shiraz, Silva Kaputikyan, Vahagn Davtyan, Paruyr Sevak), literature specialists and linguists (M. Mkryan, Hr. Tamrazyan, S. Aghababyan, Ed. Jrbashyan, S. Sarinyan, Ed. Aghayan, G, Jahukyan, H. Barseghyan) and others.

First and third presidents of the Republic of Armenia, ministers, national and cultural figures are the graduates of this faculty.


  • Chair of Armenian Language
  • Chair of Armenian Language History
  • Chair of General Linguistics
  • Chair of Armenian Literature
  • Chair of Modern Armenian Literature
  • Chair of Theory of Literature and Literary Criticism



Dean - Doctor of Philology,
Professor Artsrun Avagyan

Dean's Office: (+374 60) 71-06-22
(inner line 76-22),
Ա | Բ | Գ | Դ | Ե | Զ | Է | Ը | Թ | Ժ | Ի | Լ | Խ | Ծ | Կ | Հ | Ձ | Ղ | Ճ | Մ | Յ | Ն | Շ | Ո | Չ | Պ | Ջ | Ռ | Ս | Վ | Տ | Ր | Ց | ՈՒ | Փ | Ք | Օ | Ֆ
Academic journals