Infrastructure | Faculties

Faculty of Biology

Faculty of Biology of Yerevan State University has been established in 1933. Currently, the Faculty is the main educational center in Armenia to train high-quality specialists in various fields of Biology. At present, the Faculty consists of the following 8 Departments: (1) Botany; (2) Zoology; (3) Human and Animal Physiology; (4) Ecology and Nature Protection; (5) Microbiology and Biotechnology of Plants and Microorganisms; (6) Genetics and Cytology; (7) Biochemistry; and (8) Biophysics.

Each Department has its research groups. These groups are incorporated into five research laboratories (General Biology, Biochemistry of Nitrogen-contained Compounds, Fungi Biology and Biotechnology, Biophysics of Subcellular Structures as well as Laboratory of Structural Biophysics in cooperation with the Faculty of Physics of YSU). The staff of these laboratories is comprised of more who make the Faculty one of the leaders among other 18 Faculties of YSU.

The Faculty has a rather honorable staff: two academicians and three associate members of the National Academy of Sciences of Armenia, 25 Doctors of Sciences and more than 100 PhDs. Main directions of scientific research at the Faculty relate to the fields of molecular and cell biology, molecular biophysics, biophysics of membranes, comparative and evolutional biochemistry, plant biochemistry, botany and mycology, microbiology, plant biotechnology, human molecular genetics and cell genetics, botany and histology, physiology of human and animal higher nervous functioning, psychophysiology, ecology of biocenosis, study and conservation of biodiversity and different aspects of nature protection.

A number of graduates of the Faculty are internationally famous scientists who used to work or work at scientific centers of the former Soviet Union and other foreign countries. Well-known specialists of the Faculty work successfully in scientific cooperation with their colleagues from various scientific centers of such countries as USA, France, Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russian Federation through series of lectures and scientific reports.

Three-level educational cycle is currently carried out at the Faculty of Biology: bachelor’s level (4-year study), master’s level (2-year study) and PhD level (3 or 4 years of study depending on the form of study - present courses or correspondence courses). The education cycle is being implemented for four specialties, namely Biology, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Bioinformatics. The latter is one of the most contemporary and rapidly developing fields of Biology of the 21st century.

At present there are more than 500 students at the Faculty, out of which 400 are bachelors, and 100 are master students, while the total number of PhD students is 30. Starting 2007/08 academic year there is a group of 25 students of the first year of study by means of instruction by correspondence pursuing Bachelors degree.

At Bachelors level the theoretical knowledge taught is being supported by practical field work at “Marmarik” student camp in Kotayk region of Armenia, as well as laboratory research at various Departments of the Faculty. A pedagogical practical work at secondary schools of Yerevan is part of educational curriculum at the last year of Bachelors program.

The applicants to the Faculty should pass the first entrance examination on Biology for three specialties while the second examination for these specialties (Biology, Biochemistry and Biophysics) is facultative – either Physics or Chemistry. For the fourth specialty of Bioinformatics the applicant may choose two exams between Biology, Physics and Mathematics.

The Faculty provides master-degree programs for 11 specializations, namely Botany, Zoology, Genetics, Human and Animal Physiology, Biotechnology, Ecology, Food Biology, Biochemistry, Medical Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Bioinformatics.


  • Chair of Biophysics
  • Chair of Zoology
  • Chair of Botany and Mycology
  • Chair of Genetics and Cytology
  • Chair of Ecology and Nature Protection
  • Chair of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Biotechnology
  • Chair of Human and Animal Physiology
  • Research Institute of Biology
  • Centre of Excellence of Applied Biology
  • Cabinet of Bioethics



Dean - Associate Member of NAS RA
Emil Gevorgyan

Dean's Office: (+374 60) 71-05-03
(inner line 45-03),
Ա | Բ | Գ | Դ | Ե | Զ | Է | Ը | Թ | Ժ | Ի | Լ | Խ | Ծ | Կ | Հ | Ձ | Ղ | Ճ | Մ | Յ | Ն | Շ | Ո | Չ | Պ | Ջ | Ռ | Ս | Վ | Տ | Ր | Ց | ՈՒ | Փ | Ք | Օ | Ֆ
Academic journals