Cooperation | Faculties

Faculty of Journalism

YSU Department of Journalism was founded in 1949 as a part of the Faculty of Philology, but did not function permanently.

As a separate faculty YSU Faculty of Journalism was founded on the 1st of October of 1991 by YSU Rectorate decision. First dean of the faculty, NAS RA Associate member Garnik Ananyan has got a great contribution in the process of foundation.

Being one of the youngest structures of YSU, Faculty of Journalism has got some significant advantages owing to its policy in the area of training process. All this states about that this faculty is the leading one in the area of training journalists among our HEI.

Three-level educational system is available here: Bachelors, Masters of Arts and PHD studies. The skills, obtained by students during the first four years satisfy the demands of this specialization and they can start their professional way.

As for the magistracy, the duration of education here is two years. Here the studentship is provided with deeper level of knowledge.

Best masters continue their studies taking PHD courses. Later more specialists start to work as lecturers.

Two chairs function in the structure of the faculty: Chair of the History and Theory of Press and Chair of Radio and TV Journalism. The training process at these chairs is provided by highly qualified and skillful specialists. There are graduates of the faculty among them.

All necessary conditions for the educational process are available at this faculty to provide the theoretical and practical processes. Here we must underline the role of Multimedia Centre "Garnik Ananyan". Here modern radio and TV studios, equipped with all the required equipment for audio-video recording and editing are available, as well as a Computer Hall with Internet access and the editorial house of student newspaper "Journalist".


The Council of Ethics functions in the structure of the faculty, which has established the Code of Ethics of the faculty.

The application of new technologies is signified at the faculty. Greater part of the educational process is realized virtually via electronic communication between students and professorial staff. The "Event" is an electronic periodical ( It is the only electronic periodical in Armenia, where students are journalists and lecturers are editors.

Cooperation is established with the UN PIA in Armenia, OSCE Yerevan Office, EC Information Office in Armenia, European Commission Delegation and NATO IC.

Cooperation with leading foreign HEI is being developed permanently.

The professorial staff of the faculty is: 3 doctors, professors, 3 assistant professors, 8 candidates of philological sciences. The number of students is 334: Bachelors are 222 and Masters-62, from whom 50 prefer the distance learning. PHD students are 3.

The distance learning, available at this faculty beginning with 2007 will help many journalists who have experience in this field, but do not have corresponding education in the area.

The specialization available at the faculty is Journalism.


  • Chair of Printed and Broadcast Media
  • Chair of Communication and New Media



Dean - Candidate of Philological Sciences,
Associate Professor Naghash Martirosyan

Dean's office: (+374 60) 71-05-67,
(+374 60) 71-05-68,
(inner line 55-67, 55-68),
Ա | Բ | Գ | Դ | Ե | Զ | Է | Ը | Թ | Ժ | Ի | Լ | Խ | Ծ | Կ | Հ | Ձ | Ղ | Ճ | Մ | Յ | Ն | Շ | Ո | Չ | Պ | Ջ | Ռ | Ս | Վ | Տ | Ր | Ց | ՈՒ | Փ | Ք | Օ | Ֆ
Academic journals