Infrastructure | Faculties

Faculty of Theology

The Faculty of Theology was founded on the 1st of September in 1995. The founder-dean of the above mentioned faculty was NAS RA and YSU Honorable Doctor of Philosophy and Philology, Professor Shahe Arc. Atchemyan.

Three chairs function at the faculty: Chair of Theology, Chair of History and Theory of Religion and Chair of History of Ecclesiology and Armenian Church (from 2006-2007 Academic year). A specialized "Atchemyan library", a unique one in the country, makes the academic process more effective.

The educational process here is based on four principal directions: Introduction and Interpretation of the Bible, (Introduction and Interpretation of Old and New Testaments), Theoretical Theology (Doctrinal Theology, Petrology, Armenian Theological Chronicles), Historical Theology (General History of Church, History of the Armenian Church, Ethics, History of Religions), and Practical Theology (Science of Religion, Chronology, Moral Theology, Science of Rituals).

Since 2004 Dean of the faculty is the bishop Anoushavan Zhamkochyan. The best traditions were not only continued, but also new excellent initiatives were called to life.

Since 2006 scientific-educational publications "Annals" and "Armenian Theologist" are published here, where lecturers and PHD students of YSU faculties of History, Theology and Philology publish their articles. The edition of series "Atchemyan" was launched again.

Library-workroom of theology "Atchemyan" was completed with second reading-hall.

New computer and language tutoring special halls were opened.

It has become a tradition to organize the practice in various sacred places of Armenia, as well as the participation of students in a variety of festive ceremonies.

The relations and cooperation with the European universities, including the universities of Strasbourg and Aleppo, are developed. Not only theologians teach at the faculty periodically who have worldwide recognition, but also our best students continue their studies in these universities.

More specialists with various degrees are currently involved in the educational process here who have international recognition. Young specialists, the majority of whom are our graduates, have already received their degrees.

Two auditoriums of the faculty have been renovated and named after the names of perished soldiers of Karabakh war-Vardan Bakhshyan and Vardan Dallakyan, and one audience-after Catholicos of All Armenians Vazgen I Paltchyan.

SC and SSS of the faculty make the scientific life develop and students' everyday life more interesting and diverse.


  • Chair of Theology
  • Chair of History and Theory of Religion
  • Chair of History of Armenian Church



Anushavan Bishop Zhamkochyan

Dean's Office: (+374 60) 71-06-72,
(inner line 76-72)
Ա | Բ | Գ | Դ | Ե | Զ | Է | Ը | Թ | Ժ | Ի | Լ | Խ | Ծ | Կ | Հ | Ձ | Ղ | Ճ | Մ | Յ | Ն | Շ | Ո | Չ | Պ | Ջ | Ռ | Ս | Վ | Տ | Ր | Ց | ՈՒ | Փ | Ք | Օ | Ֆ
Academic journals